Skip Redundent Navigation
Territorial Kansas Online 1854-1861 Explore Topics Territorial A-Z Map Lesson Plans  

Territorial A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 0-9

3 results for Soule, Amasa:
Displaying results:1-3
Constitution of the Descandum Kansas Improvement Company
Authors: Soule, A.
Date: 1855
The document contained seven articles which related to the purpose of the company and how to become a member. This company sought to improve Kansas Territory by civilizing and enlightening the settlers. It was signed by the treasurer of the company. The organization appeared to be a satirical one, perhaps aimed at the various emigrant aid companies.

Keywords: Descandum Kansas Improvement Company; Immigration and early settlement; Kansas Frontier; Religion; Soule, Amasa; Stock certificates

Journal, Leavenworth Constitutional Convention, April 1, 1858
Authors: Tappan, S. F. (Samuel Forster), d. 1913
Date: April 1, 1858
On Thursday afternoon, April 1, the delegates began considering the proposed constitution in its entirety. When they reached Article II, the elective franchise, Hampton P. Johnson of Leavenworth, "moved to insert the word 'white' before the word 'male'." Jim Lane's motion to refer the matter to a special committee failed, as did B.B. Newton's motion to table "the whole subject"--yeas 35, nays 41. The yeas and nays were recorded. Among those voting to table, and thus to stifle the effort to add the word "white," were Lane, Ritchie, Preston B. Plumb, Thacher, and Amasa Soule.

Keywords: Constitutions; Johnson, Hampton P.; Lane, James Henry, 1814-1866; Leavenworth Constitutional Convention, March-April 1858; Leavenworth County, Kansas Territory; Leavenworth, Kansas Territory; Newton, B. B.; Plumb, Preston B., 1837-1891; Ritchie, John, 1817-1887; Soule, Amasa; Suffrage; Tappan, S. F. (Samuel Forster), d. 1913; Thacher, Timothy D., 1831-1894; Winchell, James M., 1823-1877

Free State Ticket - Minneola/Leavenworth Constitution
Authors: No authors specified.
Date: May 1858
This document listed persons who ran for office in Kansas Territory in May 1858.

Keywords: Adams, Henry J.; Arny, W. F. M. (William Frederick Milton), 1813-1881; Branscomb, Charles H.; Conway, Martin Franklin; Douglas County, Kansas Territory; Free State Party; Free state constitutions; Holliday, Cyrus Kurtz, 1826-1900; Ladd, Erastus D.; Leavenworth Constitution; Leavenworth County, Kansas Territory; Phillips, William A. (William Addison), 1824-1893; Soule, Amasa; Stewart, John E.; Thacher, Timothy D., 1831-1894; Walden, John Morgan; Whig Party (U.S.)


The current URL is,%20Amasa.